Club logo The Ottawa Field-Naturalists' Club
2015 President's Prize: Linda Burr

This award is given at the President's discretion for singular contributions to our Club that do not quite fit the other categories.

We badly needed an editor for a special Club publication. When I said so at a monthly meeting in 2013, Linda Burr volunteered. The project was the final editing and publication of the Larose Forest booklet which was almost finished and had been mostly written by Gillian Marsten and Christine Hanrahan. Linda took that on, a tricky job that involved diplomacy as well as writing skills and working with printers. We now have a lovely publication to show for her efforts.

Linda has also been a mainstay of the Education and Publicity Committee, representing our club at various events around the city. Then she and Lynn Ovenden discovered Heather Badenoch and convinced the Board to hire Heather to help us analyze where we are going as a Club. Linda worked with Heather to formulate an appropriate survey and gather the results. As a result, we now have a Communications Plan and a vision that involves a revamped webpage (in the works) that will give us better communication within our Club and more visibility in our community.

For her inspiration and dedication to the several projects that she has taken on so successfully, I would like to honour Linda Burr with the President's Prize.

(Prepared by Fenja Brodo, President)

Top of Page

© The Ottawa Field-Naturalists' Club
This page was created 13 May 2016
Contact the OFNC